Yves Brown McClain: Literary Fierceness

Blogging: A few Novel ideas

Posted by Dahlia on June 22, 2011

As a writer,  when I started this blog, I wasn’t sure what to blog about. I’m not a non-fiction writer, so I couldn’t write posts about my topic of expertise. So, I decided to make the blog about the process of getting my novel written and when I do publish, start sharing my experiences of being published as well do some promotion. I wanted my platform to be more than just self-promo (“Buy my book! Buy my book!” gets old after awhile). A lot of my posts have been targeted towards encouraging other writers, sharing tips and experiences. As a result, I’ve attracted a lot of other writers. This is great, because we should support each other and I’ve formed a few relationships “in the cloud” because of this. However, I also wanted to attract an audience of readers. Outside of posting an excerpt from my WIP (which I did as part of a blogfest), I was a little short for ideas. Until I came across a post from bookmarket.com. There is a list of 45 ways (more like 47 plus several reader contributions) to blog as a novelist, and it’s a pretty good list. A few items I’ve already done or am in the process of doing. Many more I’d like to incorporate. Check the list out — do you see anything on that list you’d like to try?

13 Responses to “Blogging: A few Novel ideas”

  1. Lydia K said

    Thanks for that link, I’m definitely going to check it out. I wonder about that too. I’m like you, I don’t want to be all “buy my book” when the time comes either.

  2. Lauri said

    Thanks for the link!. I will go check that out.

  3. Mike said

    That’s a pretty comprehensive list and it’ll take me a while to see if there’s something there that appeals to me.

  4. Debs said

    Thanks. This is a super useful post. Although I don’t have a novel to sell,I’ve been wondering if I should widen my blog. Much to think about.

  5. Madeline said

    Awesome link, thanks for sharing! Everything in the 20’s sound like really fun things to try. 🙂

  6. Great link. I’ve wondered that same thing myself. How do you attract readers? It’s the same thing on twitter. I have a ton of followers, but a great portion are other writers. Though I love other writers, it just doesn’t seem the way to go to market a book.

    Thanks for the link.

  7. […] I have been thinking of ways to expand my platform to get more readers. Like I mentioned before, I love the writers who follow me. Great relationships have been formed […]

Leave a Reply

 
