Yves Brown McClain: Literary Fierceness

Get the lazies out…

Posted by Dahlia on June 1, 2011

My two-year-old loves “Yo Gabba Gabba!” But, what toddler and pre-schooler doesn’t? Anyhow, there’s a song about getting the “sillies” out, when you can’t stay focused long enough to accomplish something. In this song, it was getting them to sit still and take a picture. I find that the “sillies” have applied to me lately…my “sillies” is laziness. With a large helping of procrastination.

Boy, I have fallen off in the worst way writing-wise. A few months back, I went hard on the blogging with a post every day. Then I scaled back when I realized I hadn’t worked on my WIP. Now I’ve reverted back to sporadic posting.

YOU: “Ok, so you haven’t blogged like you used to. It’s okay. How’s your book coming along?”
ME: “Well, see, what had happened was…”

Yeah, I still haven’t made any serious progress on the WIP. I can’t blame writer’s block. I can’t blame school (not anymore since I’m on summer break). Can’t blame lack of support as the hubby, fam, and friends are super-supportive. So, it just leaves me. I got lazy. Niecy Nash would congratulate me for taking my “big-girl pill” and admitting this fact if this were “Clean House”…

So, what are your “sillies”? And just how do you get them out?

5 Responses to “Get the lazies out…”

  1. Mike said

    I haven’t been writing like I wanted but it isn’t due to blogging. I’ve been spending my time reading some really awesome books by George R.R. Martin. I think it’s productive because it fuels my imagination, and the mind needs books like a sharp knife needs a whetstone.

  2. Yolanda said

    I would have to say that my sillies in this case would be distractions and taking on way too much stuff.

    By the way, so very happy to see you blogging again!

  3. Procrastination. Sometimes when I get to a really big part in my manuscript, one that I know will be full of emotion and intensity, I start worrying that I won’t be able to say it all the right way and end up procrastinating. It’s too much. Too big. So I put it off. How do I get over it? I generally just make myself some tea or cocoa and force myself to sit down and get it done.

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  4. […] I felt parts of the story were too rushed. I’ve also documented a few times about rushing and getting complacent (read: lazy). I feel I didn’t let parts of the story naturally develop through plot and dialogue […]

  5. […] I felt parts of the story were too rushed. I’ve also documented a few times about rushing and getting complacent (read: lazy). I feel I didn’t let parts of the story naturally develop through plot and dialogue […]

Leave a Reply

 
