Yves Brown McClain: Literary Fierceness

Getting to know you: A characterization exercise

Posted by Dahlia on April 8, 2011

I’m almost at the end of the semester for my writing class. One thing I need to include in my portfolio is a characterization exercise. So, I did some Googling for an alternative I could use other than the characterization profile and came across a “getting to know you” exercise from Writermorphosis’s blog. The exercise was intended for her, but she decided to respond as one of her characters. It is a good way to discover just how much you as the writer know your character. Feel free to try the following exercise out for yourself. Let me know how it goes. In the meantime, here’s a bit more about Ms. Kendall…enjoy. 🙂

WHO ARE YOU? (A Character Meme — By Kendall)

1.) What are your nicknames? There are so many…my cousin Reesy calls me Keni, my roomate from college, even though we’ve already graduated calls me Roomie (I do the same with her). My older brother still calls me Lil’ Sis and my ex…he likes my middle name, so he would call me Liv (short for Olivia) But let’s not count that last one.

2.) What game show and/or reality show would you like to be on? I have enough drama in my life to be in my own show. I’m a movement by myself.

3.) What was the first movie you bought on VHS or DVD? Coming to America on VHS was the first movie I bought with my money…classic stuff

4.) What is your favorite scent? Those cosmopoliltan-scented candle tarts from Yankee Candle.

5.) If you had a million dollars that you could only spend on yourself, what would you do with it? Easy answer: Shoes. High Heeled shoes. Stilettos. Peep-toes. Sandals. Slingbacks. Kick-ass boots. No name is off-limits now. Manolos, Loubies, Jimmy Choos…I will then need to build myself a closet to accomodate and display all of my pretty, high-heel, kick-ass, expensive shoes. I’d have to throw in some Coach bags and proably a Louis or two…I would also have a fully stocked bar with all the fixings so I can work on my drink-mixing game. Oh, and I would definitely pay off these credit card bills. That sounds like a responsible adult thing to do…and travel. Definitely travel.

6.) What one place have you visited that you can’t forget, and want to go back to? Orlando. Universal Studios was pretty awesome. And there is this outlet mall with a Coach store, a Nine West, and a Nordstrom Rack…could’ve stayed there forever.

7.) Do you trust easily? I think so…

8.) Do you generally think before you act, or act before you think? I’m a thinker. I’ve got impulsive spurts, though.

9.) Is there anything that has made you unhappy these days? I was kinda buggin over being dumped a few months ago, but you know what? Screw him. He can kick rocks.

10.) Do you have a good body image? I’ve had some issues with my body. See, I was on this birth control that had me walking around like a damn blowfish. But now that I stopped taking it, the weight’s coming off.

11.) What is your favorite fruit? Cherries.

12.) What websites do you visit daily? Zappos, DSW, Heels.com

13.) What have you been seriously addicted to lately? Martinis. Margaritas. Moscato. And Calamari.

14.) What kind of person do you think the person who tagged you is? She’s pretty awesome.

15.) What’s the last song that got stuck in your head? “All Cried Out” by Lisa Lisa and the Cult Jam

16.) What’s your favorite item of clothing? Other than my shoes? Probably my college sweats.

17.) Do you think Rice Krispies are yummy? That’s a negative.

18.) What would you do if you saw $100 lying on the ground? First, I’d look around to make sure no one else sees it. Then I’d snatch it up before anybody else sees it. I’d debate about putting in the bank, but will likely wind up at blowing it on dinner and drinks at The Cheesecake Factory. Or Maggiano’s. Or PF Chang’s…

19.) What items could you not go without during the day? MAC lipglass.

20.) What should you be doing right now? Getting ready to go to the gym.

9 Responses to “Getting to know you: A characterization exercise”

  1. Good exercise!

  2. I LOVE this! I will definitely utilize this. Maybe it’ll keep me from getting into arguments with my characters about who they are lol.

  3. Great exercise. I’m always looking for different character interviews. I might just have to use this one. Thanks.

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  4. Vicki Tremper said

    Ooh, cool, thanks for sharing!

  5. This is great. I am just starting to learn how to get to know my characters better.

    Thanks.

  6. That’s a cool questionnaire. I should save those questions to do with my own characters!

    I’m starting up a ‘Critiquing and Supportive Crusaders’ program, where participants in the Second Crusade can find other writers to exchange critiques with or form supportive critiquing circles. If you’re interested, come by The Kelworth Files to check it out!

Leave a Reply

 
