Yves Brown McClain: Literary Fierceness

Crusade Follow Up & New Blogfest

Posted by Dahlia on February 23, 2011

Thank you to everyone who looked at my Challenge Entry to the Platform-Building Crusade. It was a ton of fun trying to come up with all that stuff, plus the random words – which were bloviate, fuliguline, blade, & rabbit – in 300 words or less. There were some really cool entries from the other Crusaders, so I’m sure Rachael and the judging crew have their work cut out for them.

I had several interesting guesses to my lie, but no one guessed it. However, some of the suggestions could be considered a half-truth or almost-truth…ok a lie. So, I have unintentionally managed to squeeze in more than what was required. But hey, I write fiction, it’s what we do — make s**t up. 🙂

1. I am not running a contest…at least not yet. Sorry, Vicki, I know you really wanted that Kindle! However, it is something I’m considering giving away as part of my promotion plan for my book. So, this statement is not currently true.

2. I do have a Facebook Fan page. (insert shameless plug now) It’s www.facebook.com/wildoatsnovel

3. I ♥ iced coffee! It’s one of my favorite things. Specifically, I like iced coffee with mocha swirl, extra cream, and extra sugar from Dunkin’ Donuts. Basically, I like coffee but just don’t want it to taste like coffee.

4. I actually have been working on my book for nearly eight years. I hope to be done and published before it’s over eight years, though. That was the secret that was asked of us. I’ve had several stops, starts, moves, career changes, family expansions, and revisions to the story which led to it taking as long as it has. I am however, determined to finish and publish this year.

5. Might as well reveal the annoying habit, if you haven’t already guessed: I’m addicted to my BlackBerry. I’m on it all day, every day…drives my husband nuts.

6. One of my best character traits is that I’m pretty level-headed and can remain calm in high-stress situations.

7. My quirk is that I know and like a lot of random, useless facts, such as in Michigan, it is illegal to chain your alligator to a fire hydrant. For starters, who would own an alligator in Michigan, and second, who would tie it up to a fire hydrant? But I digress…

8. Ok, here’s the lie. I stated in the scene that I or “we” live in Detroit. I am a Detroit native, born and raised, however I do not currently live there. I live in Tampa. 😀

Now that you all know me a little better, I will bloviate a little while longer and reveal the latest challenge I signed up for. It’s the Catch Me If You Can Blogfest, hosted by Kristina Fugate at KayKay’s Corner. Here’s how this one works: if you have a WIP, post the first 550 words on your blog. Everyone participating then will review all the WIPs for a critique. What a good opportunity to get some feedback on that story you’ve been working on…hopefully not for eight years. 😉

11 Responses to “Crusade Follow Up & New Blogfest”

  1. PK Hrezo said

    Hi, Yves! Nice to meet you. I know what you mean about addicted to your Blackberry. My hubby is always getting on me about my Droid. They just have no idea how involving all the social media is… not to mention the emails.
    Anyway, look forward to crusading with you! 🙂
    PS. WOW to the 8 years! That’s gonna be some impressive work!

    • Exactly! Plus I’ve got the WordPress app on my phone (which I’m using to send this reply), so I have to keep up with my emails, tweets, FB updates, and Blog comments 🙂 I think without my phone, I wouldn’t be able to keep up…

  2. Ooh, well done squeezing in more than was required 🙂 Lovely to learn more about you (and it’s so great to have you on board the Crusade!).

    Hugs,

    Rach

  3. Catherine Johnson said

    Oh very cleverly done!

  4. Hi there! Nice to meet a fellow Crusader!

  5. I’m debating whether or not to join the blogfest. It’s not that my story isn’t ready yet, but more that I have a (probably irrational) fear of my ideas being stolen. >.< Also, who WOULDN'T want to tie their alligator to a fire hydrant. I mean, really…

    ❤ Gina Blechman (fellow crusader)

  6. EJ Wesley said

    Very sneaky! :0) Managing social media is a full-time job …

  7. […] I indicated in yesterday’s post, I’m going to take part in the Catch Me If You Can blogfest. One comment I received back was the […]

  8. […] I indicated in yesterday’s post, I’m going to take part in the Catch Me If You Can blogfest. One comment I received back was the […]

  9. […] and sharing WIPs, lied to you, made you guess the driver of a VW Beetle, signed up for another blogfest (I get the feeling blogfests are like tattoos – once you get one, it can be hard to stop getting […]

  10. […] attract an audience of readers. Outside of posting an excerpt from my WIP (which I did as part of a blogfest), I was a little short for ideas. Until I came across a post from bookmarket.com. There is a list […]

Leave a Reply

 
