Yves Brown McClain: Literary Fierceness

Write the vision

Posted by Dahlia on November 11, 2010

 Then the LORD answered me and said: “ Write the vision and make it plain on tablets, that he may run who reads it. For the vision is yet for an appointed time; But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; Because it will surely come, it will not tarry.

— Habakkuk 2: 2-3

In my twitter timeline, I came across a retweet of a woman whose username was @writethevision. Immediately upon seeing her name, I recalled the next part of the bible verse, “…and make it plain…” Suffice it to say, Habakkuk has been on my heart all day. It made me think about my own vision, to become a published author and the steps I have taken to “make it plain”. By establishing this blog, getting on twitter, setting up a Facebook fanpage, announcing to my friends, family, and virtual associates that writing is my vision.

Then there is the part that says “wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry.” This is the part that has been my challenge lately. The perseverance, the “stick-to-it-ness”, if you will. The faith is there. I see this book in publication, I have always envisioned it. However, faith without works is dead. I know this, but I’ve allowed a lot of obstacles (many self-imposed) to get in the way, allowed myself to become bogged down with the minutiae of it all (marketing, layouts, timing, publishing, reviews, galleys, websites, etc.). It has taken me several years to get a manuscript that I am happy with, and that is partly due to the fact that I’ve strayed from the vision many times, but I keep coming back. Now, I’m ready to keep at it, no matter what.

So, what is so different now? I’m older. I’m more mature. Maybe a bit wiser even. It could be I’m at the point where not only do I want to dream it, I want to do it. Be it. Take my vision and run as far as I can with it. I realize I dream big, who doesn’t? My vision extends far beyond this first novel. What good are those big dreams if the effort isn’t put into making them real, putting it on the tablets, running with it, sticking to it, having the patience, staying faithful, and allowing it manifest? Many people miss their season this way.

So, here is the challenge to anyone with a vision that reads this. Do exactly what the verse says – write it down, take the appropriate steps for the vision to come to pass, and no matter how hard the road ahead gets, keep at it, remain faithful, for “it will surely come, it will not tarry.”

Leave a Reply

 
